Sign in to follow this  

KX125 crank question

Hey guys, new to the site and looking for a little help. The motor in my 01 KX125 seized on me and after opening it up I found that the big end connecting rod bearing was shot. Upon further inspection and teardown, it looks like there was a LOT of heat in the bottom end. I'm having trouble finding a new crank assembly for an 01, which is apparently an odd in between year before the update in 03, but I do have a new connecting rod as well as crank bearings/seals. my question is, after looking at the picture below, is this crank salvageable? If so, is it worth my time to take is apart and try to get it back together perfectly, or should I just send it out? I'm a mechanic by trade, but this is my first bottom end on a bike, and I keep hearing horror stories about how much of a PITA the crank can be to get right. I have a press, calipers, etc so tools aren't the question really, just wondering if its as bad as people tell me. Thanks for any help!

-Patrick

78EF5D6D-A1F9-46DE-85ED-4A75AFC3E63D_zps