Sign in to follow this  

CRF230F not grabbing gears

I have a 2009 Honda CRF230F and I have noticed in the past year of riding that something is wrong with the transmission... When I give it gas the bike revs up however does not grab the gears and actually pull for a while the only time it seems to grab is at very low RPMs... I want to find out what exactly needs replaced so I can fix it before something else breaks because of this. I changed the clutch discs and plates last year and it made not a single bit of difference. Any suggestions on what it could be?

• Like 1

What kind of oil are you using? Maybe try flushing out the tranny and using a different oil. That's the first thing I would do. If that doesnt help, then more serious issues may be at play. I'm not a certified mechanic but this is what my intuition tells me.

Properly adjust clutch cable free play after lubing the cable with a cable Lube tool and cable lube, after lubing clutch lever pivot bolt with waterproof grease and clutch cable pivot at clutch case cover.

Always properly do your basic maintenance first before throwing new parts at it trying to repair simple neglected maintenance issues.

And as mentioned earlier, only use motorcycle engine oil specifically designed for wet (oil soaked) clutches.

If the clutch is not faulty and we want to enhance its functionality, we can use a trick.

Just add 4 copper washers, one for each clutch spring.

I have done this, it really works.

First we have to put the washer (washer measure must be appropriate to let slide the clutch pressure plate)

Then we put the spring and finally close the bolt.