Get that dancing monkey off your back! Read more... ×
Sign in to follow this  

Handling, single back tube vs twin spar frame flex SM ?

I am curious if anybody running your motards hard can tell a good bit of difference between the way a single down tube back frame handles compared to the twin spar for fast SM riding.

I always liked the flex of the old school design single back frame for off road riding because the flex but I am a amateur maybe B level, I am wondering if the road style twin spar frames with less flex really work a good bit better road going for motard.

Thanks for any input.

I had a '03 CRF450R that I raced SM and also raced a Husaberg 550 with a steel frame.  I didn't notice a lot of difference in flex, but the CRF seemed a little more solid.  The Berg turned better, but it also had a 16.5 front.  I liked the way the CRF felt with tall bars and forward adjustable clamps, as I am 6'6".  I also ran the forks up about 1/4" in the clamps for more steering.

I am 6foot4 and did not like the CRF 450 03 for off road riding because how stiff it was but for road motard if set up right it is about as good as gets for a big goof such as myself ? I bought a 05 CRF 450 and the ergos and bike was to small and uncomfortable for me even though on paper it is a much better bike.

I want to build a 80 HP Liger CR500 CRF 450 Street Legal Tard and before I do this I need opinions from tall guys who have run these on the streets. I want a good slider bike chasses.

It is a lot of work to build a bike like this.

Thanks for helping me.

Edited by Whipitnow

I personally like my KTM much better than My RMZ.  I have a lot more front end feel on the KTM.  On my rmz I had to run Bridgestone soft slick cause other tires would just let go.  I wont say it was just the frame difference but i feel like the single back bone frame helps.