Sign in to follow this  

HELP NEEDED

I just bought a 2004 crf450r. It will not start. The guy I bought it from said he had to tow it with a golf cart to bump start it. The air filter wasn't oiled or even connected. I'm assuming it needs a valve adjustment and maybe a piston. This is my first four stroke so I'm new to this hole thing. Are my valves so far out of adjustment that it won't start? I took out the pilot jet and I couldn't even see light through it. I cleaned it out and cleaned the carb but it still won't start. Any help would be appreciated. And if someone could tell me the stock jet sizes that would be awesome. Thank you for your help in advance

I would try to get your money back. Buying a bike that has a dry and/or non-attached air filter gets you the worst possible bike out there. Oil changes were surely neglected as well. Bike likely needs valves and head work and also a top end. If you're lucky...

I just bought a 2004 crf450r. It will not start. The guy I bought it from said he had to tow it with a golf cart to bump start it. The air filter wasn't oiled or even connected. I'm assuming it needs a valve adjustment and maybe a piston. This is my first four stroke so I'm new to this hole thing. Are my valves so far out of adjustment that it won't start? I took out the pilot jet and I couldn't even see light through it. I cleaned it out and cleaned the carb but it still won't start. Any help would be appreciated. And if someone could tell me the stock jet sizes that would be awesome. Thank you for your help in advance

well tatty...