Sign in to follow this  

Need advice on which of two CRF250Xs to buy

Please excuse my ignorance.  I'm new to this, but looking forward to learning more.

I'm looking to buy a CRF250X, and have narrowed it down to two bikes.  I'd like some help deciding between the two.

One is a 2011 that was bought new in September 2013.  It has about 7 hours on it.

The other is a 2008, bought new in 2010.  It has 150-160 hours on it, had the valves reset last year, and has been regularly maintained by the dealer.

All of these facts are of course based only on what the seller is telling me.  I can confirm that the 2011 was bought last September, as the seller forwarded me the bill of sale.

The newer bike is $1200 more.

I'd be happy with the older bike, but I would regret it if I'm much closer to needing major maintenance that would eat up a lot of the price difference.  I'm not yet comfortable doing anything more involved than an oil chance myself, and would therefore be paying for all the labour.

Does the age of the older bike mean it's likely close to needing some expensive service?

Thank you in advance for any help!

Edited by devenyi

Go with the newer bike yes its more money but it will run for a good long time without giving you any trouble,the one with 160hours it going to need things done on it in time but its your call.

Thanks Martin,

That's the way I was leaning, but I figured I would ask since the bikes have remained relatively unchanged.  I'd rather spend a little more upfront to prolong the need for inevitable service!

I think I'd go with the newer one as well.  While the bikes are largely unchanged, there are differences from year to year at times.    From 2009 and up though, nothing changed.  From 2008 to 2009, a few things did.