Sign in to follow this  

Engine blowing from cylinder cover gasket

Hi guys, I'm new to the forum so i think it's etiquette to introduce myself.

My name is Martin and I'm from Buenos Aires, Argentina. I'm the proud father... i mean owner of a '92 xr600r.

I've had the bike for a couple of years (after owning a couple of bikes before it) and i absolutely love it. But as any old bike, i has it's coughs and hiccups every one in a while.

The latest started a few weeks after rebuilding the engine (not me but the local mechanic). At first it was only noticeable at high revs. A valve adjust seem to solve it but it came back. I'm talking of a sound when accelerating the bike that sounded like a perforated exhaust. The bike stood for a few months because of other repairs, but when i started riding it again the sound not only came back but it became more noticeable and could be heard at low revs as well.

Long story short, i took it to the mechanic and he says it looks like the cylinder cover gasket is leaking, probably due to a stripped thread on the cover. He recommended doing inserts but the quote is quite steep.

So here's the questions. I'm thinking of doing this myself. Not the actual inserts, but all the taking the engine apart and putting it back together. I have done some work on the bike and on some of my previous bikes, but messing with the engine seem a bit more complex to me. Do you think this is something that i could do at home myself? 

Thanks in advance for any help or tips and I'm glad to be joining these forums.

Installing inserts is something you can do at home. You can go heli-coil or Time-Sert. I have not spent any time Argentina (West coast of South America only) but I would think Heli-Coil is available in your locality.

I've installed these at home in the same location as you will need with nothing more than a drill, bits, and some red loctite...