Sign in to follow this  

Buying used kx250f. Good idea?

I'm not sure whether or not I should get a used bike because the horrors I heard about (mostly owners not maintaining their bike) and the consequences such as $2000 rebuilds on an engine. I really wanted to start racing but still be able to trail ride making the 250f a perfect compromise. Anyways I don't have the money for a brand new one but I can get rid of my brand new 110L for a good amount (would also like to know a good selling price for this I have less than 15 hours on it) and I have $2000 saved right now and I was thinking of buying a used one and take it straight to the dealer to have them diagnose any problems. If there was a problem my grandpa who is really good with dirt bikes could help replace the worn out parts and I can save a little cash. My question is this a good idea? Also I would like to know what to check when I see the bike and also what year would be the best (2010 was my guess but I'm new to 250f's). Thanks

If they have papers showing a current date for a rebuild would it be less risky? Like I said I would take it straight to my dealer to get it looked at and if there was a problem it would still probably end up being cheaper than a brand new one. Are 2009's any good too?

• Like 1

If they have papers showing a current date for a rebuild would it be less risky? 

Not as much as you think. There's still a ton of other parts that don't get replaced every rebuild and there's still a ton of other little things to worry about and even if the motors fine, the transmission, clutch or everything else could be waiting to go.