Throttle and cable

I'm new to this idk if it's the right category but I have an 01 rm 125 I bought a new throttle cable because mine had play I lubed the cable before I installed it and I put it on right and it still has a lot of play like almost a quarter of the throttle is play and it's the right stock size cable

I'm new to this idk if it's the right category but I have an 01 rm 125 I bought a new throttle cable because mine had play I lubed the cable before I installed it and I put it on right and it still has a lot of play like almost a quarter of the throttle is play and it's the right stock size cable

There should be adjustment on your cable and/or at the throttle housing where the cable enters.

You want "some" slack so your slide FULLY closes on your carb... *confession* I replaced my cable a couple years ago and got it a hair to tight.  The result is the same as cracking your throttle slightly.  Upon starting up the bike, the RPMs began to climb nervously until I shut it down. :D  whoops.

I've adjusted the thing in the cable in the middle all the way screwed in all the way out and it still has so much play I know bikes should have a little play but my bike can't even idle because the play

I've adjusted the thing in the cable in the middle all the way screwed in all the way out and it still has so much play I know bikes should have a little play but my bike can't even idle because the play

Just so we are on the same page...

It should idle fine with slack...that should be OK.  Slack would mean you have to twist the throttle more to take up the extra before it moves the slide.

What about the adjuster on the throttle housing?

throttlecable02.jpg

Edited by RhinofromWA

Just so we are on the same page...

It should idle fine with slack...that should be OK. Slack would mean you have to twist the throttle more to take up the extra before it moves the slide.

What about the adjuster on the throttle housing?

throttlecable02.jpg