Sign in to follow this  

First XR200R

Hello all,

I'm new to this forum and not too sure if this post goes here, but here's a little bit about me: I'm new to trail riding, but I've been riding a cbr 600 f3 for a few months and a smaller bike a few months before that. A friend of mine is moving to Florida and decided to sell me his 01 XR 200. I got it for $850 so I think that was a pretty good deal.  it needs an oil change, new fork seal, and a good cleaning, there's also a ping coming from the top end that he thinks is the exhaust valve so I'll see what I can do with that before i start working on the rest of the bike. So far I've just been looking around this forum and doing research on different mods to make the bike perform better and since I'm a 205lb rider I figured i'd start with the suspension. I found some forks and the triple from an 88 CR250 and I may be picking those up. I'm sure I'll have a question or two about the rear shock but I'll save that for another post.  :)

2014-05-08 14.11.39.jpg
2014-05-08 14.12.02.jpg
2014-05-08 14.11.42.jpg

highflying 23,

$850 with a few issues for 2001 XR200R, sounds about right. 

If you are going to bolt on the CR250R front end, you want to make sure you have the

corresponding rear shock to go with it. The 84-85 XR200R/XR250R have the same shock

that will give you the correct rear height, but the ideal rear shock would be the 86-91 rear

shock with that particular years linkage and both models are rebuildable. If you can find a

86-88 rear linkage that is ~ 2lbs lighter if lightness is something you are going for. 

The ticking you are hearing potentially could be the timing chain, that needs to be adjusted.

Welcome to the forum. 

Michael 

• Like 1

highflying 23,

$850 with a few issues for 2001 XR200R, sounds about right.

If you are going to bolt on the CR250R front end, you want to make sure you have the

corresponding rear shock to go with it. The 84-85 XR200R/XR250R have the same shock