Sign in to follow this  

Bead not popping

Hey guys this is my first time changing a tire (rear) and it all went successfully except when I filled it up with air I did not hear a pop noise for it sitting in the bead. It visually looks like it's sitting in the bead but should I be concerned I didn't hear a pop?

Hey guys this is my first time changing a tire (rear) and it all went successfully except when I filled it up with air I did not hear a pop noise for it sitting in the bead. It visually looks like it's sitting in the bead but should I be concerned I didn't hear a pop?

How much air did you put in it I normally have to put 35-40 psi before the bead will seat perfect. It doesn't always make a pop noise and sometimes I have to bounce the tire. 

• Like 2

I put 50 psi in and also bounced it. Still nothing...

Take a picture of both sides and post it. That would really help. :devil:

• Like 1

Sorry for the poor photos. It's on the triangle. I can get some of it on the center stand tomorrow

Sorry for the poor photos. It's on the triangle. I can get some of it on the center stand tomorrow attachicon.gif

Its hard to tell but if its not seated all the way you might try taking all the air out of the tube, and then spray some windex between the tire and rim. That way when you put 50psi in it there is some lube to help the bead slide on the rim. Also if it is only a small area get the old rubber mallet out and beat on it a little. 

Edited by usdualsports
  • Like 1

I give up for tonight! I'll try that tomorrow! Thanks!

I have had problems with beads not seating around the bead lock.  Just ride the bike around the block with everything loose then tighten it up.  Next time, lubricate the bead with dish soap or tire mounting lube and this wont happen.

• Like 1