Sign in to follow this  

91 yz 250 metal shavings..........

Ok so i was riding and i think i was in second gear and i wrapped on the throttle and i was getting fom like mid-high rpms and the bike kind of bogged and died. At first I thought it was the top but then i tried to kick it and it was locked and I have been having problems hitting false neutral and i changed the tranny oil every two rides because it seemed to help for a bit and then it would start slipping again. I have no clue what it might be because i need to take off one bolt to get the cylinder head off but i seemed to misplace my 14mm wrench and i dont have anything that would suffice until tomorrow wen i get paid and i can go blow a whole bunch of cash on tools and parts :) but im just wondering what you guys think it might be. Im just a newbie with this bike wrenching stuff so take it easy on me lol. I found metal shavings as soon as i took off the exhast pipe and when i changed the tranny oil several times before i didnt see any either which is why it didnt bother me too bad. but it still bothered me......... now im facing the consequences........ so let me know what you guys think. Thanks guys!

IMG_02221.JPG

IMG_02212.JPG

Edited by yz250ripper

First, reading that gave me a head ache.

Second, your bike is a two stroke. Your tranny oil has nothing to do with the crank shaft, piston or cylinder therefore you would not get metal from the crank into the transmission. It's not possible unless the cases become compromised.

Third, your bike shattered the piston skirt. You will more than likely be completely rebuilding the top and bottom end including getting the cylinder recoat. Good luck

Last but not least, this issue has absolutely nothing to do with your bike hitting false neutral.

Edited by Woodsweapon350
  • Like 2