Sign in to follow this  

dr-z400 turkey baster mod

since my coolant over flow was removed from the PO i decided the quick and inexpensive way to take care of that problem. here are some pics of where i mounted it.i used 3.5oz baster a 3/4 plug, 2' fuel tubing1/4 ID 3/8' OD some hose clamps and a brain. it was fairly easy here are some pictures.i moved the horn over to the other pre drilled hole and used a hose clamp to mount the baster. took me about 30 minutes.

CAM00274.jpg

CAM00275.jpg

CAM00277.jpg

CAM00279.jpg

CAM00280.jpg

CAM00281.jpg

CAM00276.jpg

Edited by fuentes52
  • Like 1

Looks great! Hope I'm not hijacking your thread but I have a question. What would happen if you just capped of the line that goes to the reservoir? On my 09 klx250s I cracked the overflow within 100 miles (also broke my wrist lol) and just removed it and put a bolt in the hose. Put 18,000 hard miles on it and never had a problem. Thanks

im a diesel mechanic so im no expert on bikes but its all the same principle. but a coolant overflow or a recovery tank is when the bike is up to operating temp the coolant will expand or rise like anything else that gets hot so the water has no where to go but to build pressure on the cap or go into the overflow without losing any coolant its all in one lop ot of the radiator in the bottle then back to the radiator. so capping it off im not sure but what i go by if its there its there for a reason unless someone has a in genius mod like this.  your best bet is to let it breath by just running a line to the bottom of the bike but the disadvantage to that is you may lose coolant on the ground or buy a new bottle orrr TURKEY BASTER!!!

Edited by fuentes52

huge turkey baster I for the life of me could not find one bigger than like 1oz . which is on my bike atm. were did you find your turkey baster?