Sign in to follow this  

Question about the 1 or 2 finger approach to using the clutch.

I tried searching but didn't have much luck. So I'm new to dirt bikes and woods riding so I'm getting used to feathering the clutch, etc etc etc. I started out doing it the wrong way, using all 4 fingers to pull the level all the way into the bars.

So, yesterday I'm trying to do the 2 finger approach, but I noticed my bike was still pulling a little. I would pull the level in with 2 fingers and would stop when it hit my other 2 fingers still on the bars.

Do I need to adjust my clutch or am I missing something? 

Bike is an 04 RM 250. I'm in the process of making it more woodsie, but at this point I'm still just getting used to it.

Thanks!

my 96 isn't running right now, but they lever on it, is shaped bad, and is really close to the bars. when I get it fixed up, I will get a lever that will stick far away from the bars(or custom bend some)

Two fingers? Get your lever right and you should be able to use one finger. Look at the shape. Those levers get bent often.

You might also be able to move the clutch perch to the right (sitting on the bike).

Getting your control's set-up on the bike is key. Handle bars forward/back. Lever's up/down as well as left/right on the bar's so they don't hit your fingers. Shifter position.

I cut mine. Just past the second finger. Love it like this. I'll try to post a pic later. It's dark out here now.

Same here, set up all my bikes this way. I can pull it as far as I want without pinching fingers.