Sign in to follow this  

How to make back brake more sensitive?

How would you make your back brake more touchy so i just do a little pressure and it will be close to locking up. I really have to press hard on mine for it to lock up and i'd prefer to have it more sensitive... Thanks.

Pressurize the system. Take a large syringe with brake fluid in it and connect it to the caliper bleeder nipple. Remove air bubbles from the line and then crack open the bleeder nipple. Force fluid from the syringe into the system. You should be able to see the pistons/pads move some as you force the fluid into the system. As the piston/pads get closer to the rotor as you are pressurizing the system, close the bleeder nipple. There is a bit of trial and error to get the desired sensitivity you want from the lever feel.

Pressurizing the system would seem to me to be a dangerous proposition, but I am not an expert in hydraulics.  The reason the diaphragm is in the MC is to allow the system to be at atmospheric pressure.  If any contaminants find their way into the fluid (water?) and that fluid heats up, it would seem the expansion could cause a sudden lock up at the worst possible time.  You have probably already tried raising the brake lever a bit to give you more leverage, and you have probably bled the system to improve its feel.  For more stopping power, you could deglaze the rotor and the pads with sandpaper to see if that helps.  The other alternative is a new rotor if yours is too thin or premium brake pads designed to give you maximum bite.  We're trying the Braking CM46 which are supposed to have a strong bite.  So far, so good.