Sign in to follow this  

Mah 250x-A running thread

Ok, I'll start with a bit about myself.  I am a weekend warrior dual sport bike rider ( also own a Kawi Versys for commuting, gravel, etc).  I have been riding for many years, but just started with dual sporting heavy about 4 years ago.  Our weekend rides typically consist of 200ish miles of fast gravel, trail work, abandoned roads, and some pavement sections. 

I started with a KLR 250, which was a slow pig, but reliable as an anvil, I moved onto a WR250R, also a pig and reliable.  I finally decided that I wanted a lighter weight bike for more serious trail work, but still wanted to be able to be streetable for dual sporting.  My riding style is not extreme by any means, I am not the type to be on the limiter constantly.  However, I don't just putt along, I guess it could be said I ride at a brisk pace.

Last week, I picked up a 04 CRF 250x from a person who maintained it quite well and has a stable of red, so I felt good about his maintainance.  He just used it in his woods, and checked the valves every season, and told me they have always been in spec, I checked them immideatly after purchase and they are in spec.

As for the bike, it was already plated (cake in Ohio), and has a Pro Circuit Ti pipe with matching jets, Vapor dash, nice light kit, and some other odds and ends.  Everything is well done and top notch quality, so I feel good that it has been maintained well.  My first impressions riding it are that I absolutely love the way it rides.  I enjoy the power curve, the suspension is set up perfectly for my stlye of riding, and it just instantly clicked with me and didn't take any "getting used to".  On the road it feels good for a dirt bike, it currently is geared 14/53, which is way short, I also have a 47 tooth rear, which I hope to be a good combo.