Sign in to follow this  

Old bike vs. New bike

What's the power difference between say a 1992 YZ250 2 stroke and a 2014 YZ250 2 stroke. I'm not genius when it comes to engines so I'm wondering the power increase with newer technology. Also, if those said bikes were to have a flat drag race would the never one completely murder the older one?

Thanks,

I've always wondered about this too......... they never have any horsepower specs on older bikes.  The "newer" ones claim to have horsepower in the high 30's or so for 125cc, but realistically, I'm thinking around 27 horsepower.  But then again I'm new to dirtbikes so, I've yet to see actual numbers from those that have seen it ran on a dyno.

I know the 125cc racing kart blueprinted motors can make up to 42 HP (at the crank) though.  That's BEAST! 

Yeah I know all the specs are for the new ones. Hopefully someone on here a new one and an old one to compare or has ridden em both

In numbers it's probably around 5-7 more horsepower. And more torque, which in turn makes it feel quite a bit more powerful.

One of the main advantages of a new 2 stroke vs an old one is advances in technology and r&d that have made the power curve more linear.

Combine these two factors and you get a much faster and more rideable bike

Combine these two factors and you get a not much faster and more lame bike

There I fixed it.

what about weight? wont a new one be lighter?

So you think if they were to drag race the new one would absolutely kill?

If you use 'drage race' and dirt bike in the same sentence......  these old timer dirt bikers in here will give you no resepect, son!!!!