Sign in to follow this  

Exhaust making license plate black

Hey guys/gals. I am new to ThumperTalk. I bought a 2003 DRZ400E recently and put my license plate on it and everything, however, I noticed that within the first 2 rides that the exhaust makes the license plate really dark black on the exhaust side. I figured it was just the exhaust gases coming out, but I am starting to think that the bike could be running too lean or rich. Is this a common issue if the plate is in front of the exhaust or should I check out the jetting of the carb? The guy that had it before me said that he had the carb jetted already. 

Also, I am thinking of getting new black handlebars for the DRZ. Is there a certain handlebar that y'all would recommend?

Thank you

It's normal for the exhaust gases to blacken the licence plate ....You may be able to relocate the plate

or redirect the muffler direction slightly by spacing the muffler mount out a tad.....

Is the bike running ok?

Untitled2.png

Edited by Craigo 485sm
  • Like 1

The bike runs perfect. I guess I was just being paranoid about it. I will probably end up relocating the plate somewhere else like you said. Thanks!

It's normal for the exhaust gases to blacken the licence plate ....You may be able to relocate the plate

or redirect the muffler direction slightly by spacing the muffler mount out a tad.....

Untitled2.png

My plate has turned black on the edge as well with the FMF slipon. If you are having this happen with the stock exhaust you may be able to rotate the end cap to direct exhaust out to the right side. Check out the laws where you live when relocating license plate. Where I live the plate must be horizontal mounted, lighted and have a red reflector visible from the rear.

Craigo, I like your mud flap, care to share any pics, material used to make it? I have the same edge light and SAR blinkers, looking for a clean way to mount a reflector.