Sign in to follow this  

Dirt bike riding gear

I'm new to this little "Dirt Bike World"........ so I was wondering, would you laugh at me if you saw me wearing cheap motox gear that I bought off of Ebay?  But being new and clueless, I'm standing there thinking to myself I look more 'fresh' then a pimp straight from the 70's, while you old timers are chuckling inside trying to put on a straight face?

How bad is it with dirt bike 'politics'.  I don't want to be that dude with neon glow kit on his cruiser bike while blaring Lynrd Skynrd music through his motorcycle speakers.

Gear can get expensive..... no?  And are they even really necessary, excluding helmet, or is it more to look cool in it?  Come on, you guys know chicks dig them fancy smancy gear you smashed your piggy bank for, especially chest protectors (maybe because it makes you look buffer then you really are?  who knows, chicks are strange).

Edited by Honda_Power

I am all for buy once cry once when it comes to boots and helmets but stuff that's gonna get trashed like pants and jerseys are bought on clearance rack at local store or close out specials ... buy good gear to save your skin and get by gear fro flash factor....

I may just be old though and would rather put the money into my bike and making sure she's running good ....LOL

• Like 1

You worry way too much about what people think.

Chest protectors are, get this, protectors. Roosted gravel to the clavicle or nipple is a nightmare.

• Like 1

Buy good protection.....Pants and jersey on clearance. Pants and jersey are for comfort....wet jeans and a cotton tee will become uncomfortable and even cause rashing once wet and/or sweaty.

I have matching gear, but I got it for less than what a new jersey alone would cost me. I also try to buy me gear a "plain" looking as possible, pick colors for the weather (no black for summer etc.).