Sign in to follow this  

kx 250 wont shift

hello im new to the thumper talk and also new to bikes and learning as i got ell bout 2 months ago got a kx 250 dirt bike well it will shift to 1st 2nd and 3rd but not beyond tht now if you let it idle down like really idle then you can shift other wise that then toy cant shift i cant figure it out im going to get a new clutch cable i had the cluch and basket it out looked fine a lil worn not to bad thaogh can any body help me in to the point of selling this thing.

If you are trying to sell it, just try to convince the buyer it has a custom 3 speed transmission.  If not, you would likely have to get the bottom end fixed which will cost some money... or sell "as is" at a considerably reduced price.

Edited by mch
  • Like 2

Could be either the shift star wheel system needs attention as the shift drum is not turning beyond 3rd gear or the 4th & 5th gear shift fork is broken, bent, whatever and 3rd gear is not sliding back and forth.

so pretty much i just need to sell it right.

Sure. But tell them its broken of course. I'd be super pissed if I bought a broken bike advertised as working.

I would shift through all the gears of course. But someone not as wise as me might not. :kidding:

well of cource im not that mean well i found a guy that would trade me his kx 500 that needs a top end for my POS