Sign in to follow this  

Broken Kickstarter Pin

Hi,

I'm a 16 year old I have some knowledge of engines and cars but I'm fairly new to bikes.

I saved up my cash and bought an '02 250f. I realized the bike had problems after I bought it, mostly worn out parts and engine wear.

So a while ago I went to kickstart the bike (it was fairly cold) and it went down but didnt come back up and I knew something was wrong.

I removed the kickstarter and found that the pin/axel had been broken into two.

While i was away at school my dad had said he opened up the case to figure it out and that's where the problems begin.

I'm not too sure what happened but according to my father the bike needs a new kickstarter pin, clutch basket, and gasket..

I will provide pictures below, one of the photos shows some parts that had come out of the bike (a spring, a larger spring, and a plastic circle). How much will this cost me in parts, is it easy to fix?

IMG_1954.JPG

IMG_1955.JPG

IMG_1956.JPG

IMG_1957.JPG

IMG_1958.JPG

IMG_1959.JPG

IMG_1960.JPG

First, look at the manual exploded view of the parts in the kick starter (starter).  This will get you familiar with what should be there and the locations.

You will also have to remove the coolant.  The water pump is in the right side cover and has a drain hole.  remove the 8mm bolt to drain and remove the radiator cap.  Catch all of the coolant, don't want the dog or cat to come lick it up (poison).

Remove the radiator line to the pump, all the bolts, and the rear brake lever.  I think there's a bolt under the rear brake lever.

Then pull the right side cover... 8mm socket.  Remove the water pump cover.

Remove the side cover... you may have to tap on it lightly with a rubber mallat.