1996 XR600 slipping kick starter

I'm new to the XR world and dirt bikes. About two years ago I picked up a nice '96 XR600 in great shape. The previous owner added a lighting kit to make it street legal and I thought I'd use it to commute but ended up not needing it for that. I've installed a 200 watt stator, new Pirellis, a taller bar, an Aceribis desert tank and new grips. I hate to admit it but yesterday was the first time I've had it in the dirt and it was awesome. The only issue that it really has is a slipping kick starter. It only does it in one spot so I'm pretty sure the gear has a rounded or missing tooth. I'd like to try and fix it myself as it would save me a couple hundred in labor based on the Honda dealer's estimate. Anyone ever tackled this repair before? If so, I'd sure appreciate some guidance. Thank you.

They can do the odd graunch/slip at times..If you want to have a look at the mechanism first off the right footpeg and foot brake assembly need to come off the frame..Kickstart also. Then undo your bolts holding the cover on and remove it. When that cover comes off what you have to be careful of is a small metal collar and rubber 0-ring that fit between the actual mating surface of the cover and the oil pump will either fall out or be still stuck inside either the cover or the pump..What you don't want to do is lose that part..It has to go back in on reassembly. You can probably get away without draining the oil to do the job if you lean the bike way over towards the left..You will still get a mess so be prepared with rags or covers on the deck..Once the covers off the kick shaft etc can be eyeballed for damage. Getting the whole kicker assembly out isn't hard..I've semi forgotten the method but I'll have a look at

a manual and get back once you reply about being inside..If I don't I'm sure someone else will..May not be around tomorrow,,Got to go north for a bit of business..