Sign in to follow this  

Budget riding gear?

Is there a brand of gear that is good or at least decent that will not break the bank?

Im a beginner so dont need the best of the best i dont think. Any input will be appreciated. 

Let me know what you have used and how it held up. I need everything (boots helmet jersey etc)

And if your bored some links to them Lol

Thanks guys! :)

Oh boy this is going to go viral, you need to buy at least middle of the road on everything. Remember you cannot put a value on good quality protective gear, because when your laying in the hospital bed a few hundred extra will all of the sudden sound cheap.

As everybody will tell you, ain't nothing wrong with shopping clearance items.

When I was getting started I wanted to get as many areas of gear covered as possible to get into the sport safely and comfortably. So I ended up with 2 sets of Fly Kinetic jersey/pants/gloves that were almost 2 year old models at that point and a year later they are still perfect (beginner-novice rider). I have gotten a "high end" big brand  set as a gift and I actually way prefer the lower end Kinetic gear. Just pick a style and colours you can live with and dont just throw them in the corner of the garage for a week when your done riding!

The Fly Maverick boots are also good bang for the buck, but they are surely not comfortable or maneuverable. They will get the job done and saved my foot from being shredded on gravel one of my first rides out. 

Don't neglect a simple set of cheaper knee/elbow pads either! I got the knee stuff to avoid silly scratches, however after a friend met in a nasty accident on pavement connecting to a trail and his simple $20 knee pads essentially saved it from being blown apart I now highly recommend them from day one!!

• Like 1