Sign in to follow this  

Just picked up a 2005 YZ125 project bike, need some help, info

Im new to the Yamaha world, I've had lots of Honda XR's & CR's but this is my first YZ125. Just picked up a nice little project bike. It's a 2005 YZ125. Overall the bike looks to be in good condition except for the transmission. It looks like something broke & took out the transmission & the LH case half. Every gear & the shift drum looks like it has some sort of damage to it & the LH case half has a hole in it. The top end, crank, RH case half, & clutch  still looks perfect & the rest of the bike is in great shape.

Are these good bikes? Is it common for them to have tranny problems? Is the bike worth fixing, or should I just part it out? Is there anything else I should upgrade while I have the bottom end apart? What year transmissions & cases interchange, or if I can find a whole bottom end are there any other years that will work?

I know every like pics so here you go.

yz1.jpg

yz2.jpg

yz3.jpg

yz4.jpg

yz5.jpg

Edited by xrcrf100

2005-2014 transmission and cases are the same.just need to fit the 2007 onwards shift stopper to solve the shifting problem on the 05-06 model's.

heres a link

http://www.thumpertalk.com/topic/512858-replace-your-shift-stopper/

Ok, thanks for the info So if I could find a complete bottom end from an 06-14 would I be able to just bolt my 05 top end & electrical on & run it?

Ok, thanks for the info So if I could find a complete bottom end from an 06-14 would I be able to just bolt my 05 top end & electrical on & run it?

yes

• Like 1

I bet the shift stopper came apart. 

In 07 they upgraded the shift stopper

I don't know where the rest of it went but it looks like thats what happened. Crazy how much damage that little thing did.

yza.jpg

yzb.jpg