Sign in to follow this  

Riding motorcycle at age 17/18?

Hey guys just wanted some input one what you think. I'm 15 right now and I've been riding dirt bikes for about 3 years. I love it so much and sometimes I hop on my bike and ride to a friends house. I want to know what your guys opinion is on riding a street legal dirtbike at age 17/18 is. I wouldn't be riding a street bike, most likely a 250f. I also wouldn't be riding on highway. It would be to ride a couple miles to school and some friends houses. Any ideas?

i've been riding street bikes since 14 (in iowa its legal :ride: ) go for soemthing cheap though, because you're going to ride the hell out of the bike no matter what you say now, buy a cheap older xj550 650 kz550 650 cb750 gs650 etc, old standard bikes from the eighties, they're cheap cheap cheap 500 -1000 dollars for a decent bike, and they're cheaaaap on insurance.

• Like 2

Hey guys just wanted some input one what you think. I'm 15 right now and I've been riding dirt bikes for about 3 years. I love it so much and sometimes I hop on my bike and ride to a friends house. I want to know what your guys opinion is on riding a street legal dirtbike at age 17/18 is. I wouldn't be riding a street bike, most likely a 250f. I also wouldn't be riding on highway. It would be to ride a couple miles to school and some friends houses. Any ideas?

You will be fine, so long as you aren't silly (I struggle with this bit) and look out for the cagers. Anything else you wanna know?

Here is my opinion:

Small dirtbikes are suckage on road IMO. I've got motard wheels on my KTM and find it to be acceptable, but any distance more than short highway riding is out. (doesn't affect you anyway)

If you are going to be doing more street, look for a cheap older street bike such as a GPX250.

Also a good street or dual sport helmet is a good bet too. It cuts down on noise and adds comfort.

Street riding will put miles on your 250f quick too, just remember that.

• Like 1