Sign in to follow this  

YZ 85

I'm a beginner rider looking for a bike. Would a yz 85 be too small for me. In 5'10 155 pounds. Any suggestions would be great.

I'm a beginner rider looking for a bike. Would a yz 85 be too small for me. In 5'10 155 pounds. Any suggestions would be great.

What are you going to be doing with the bike?  Racing?  Riding trails?  Open country?  New or used?

I would suggest you start on something bigger like a 125cc two stroke or a 230cc four stroke trail bike...

If you are just starting to ride I would suggest a CRF 230 or maybe even a CRF 150R. Two strokes aren't really beginner friendly bikes.

If you are just starting to ride I would suggest a CRF 230 or maybe even a CRF 150R. Two strokes aren't really beginner friendly bikes.

I have a little bit different philosophy on the 125's.  I 100% agree that they are not beginner friendly, but it's exactly for that reason that I think the 125 is great for learning on.  I have both of my sons on 125's for many reasons outside the scope of this thread, but one big reason is I think the 125 makes a great training tool.  The 125 really forces the rider to learn and use clutch control right from the get go, rather than developing lazy clutch habits.  I know one could say that in the beginning you want the new rider to have a positive experience and learn other bike basics like body position, cornering, etc...without having to focus too much on the clutch, which I agree with.   However by keeping a crisp 125 in the lower revs, on less challenging terrain the rider can actually putt around on the 125 and it's pretty tame and predictable, and one can still get around pretty good.  Unless the new rider gets extremely throttle happy the bike is pretty mellow and predicatable......but as the rider develops he's got plenty of "scream" on tap to keep him from getting bored...but won't get anywhere through more challenging terrain without having learned some clutch modulating skills...