Sign in to follow this  

Wheel carrier on open trailer

So like it says. I've got an open car trailer that I haul on. I've got a complete rear spar wheel. I want to mount it on the trailer. There isn't really room in my suburban. I'm a proficient welder so I can put anything on the trailer. Any suggestions on how to hold the wheel? His is a pic of the setup.

E3C2D6F9-1514-41CA-993B-01000631416C-105

You are talking about the spare tire for the trailer right? I would go get a piece of threaded rod from Home Depot, one that fits the lug hole on the wheel the best, weld it onto the front cross bar that the tire is leaning against. You can easily mount the tire on the rod. use which ever hole in the rim that give the tire some support from the trailer w/o the tire being at an angle and run a nut down to hold it on.

OR

Using the same treaded rod and a piece of channel, weld the channel across the "V" width wise of the trailer, threaded rod pointing up or down (if going down, use 2 pieces of rod) and bolt the tire on so it is laying across the trailer.

To secure it from theft, run a cable and pad lock through the hub and around a solid piece of the trailer (like the tongue).

No not the spare for the trailer. That's already mounted. I'm talking about a complete rear for my dirt bike. I want to mount it somehow on the trailer

No not the spare for the trailer. That's already mounted. I'm talking about a complete rear for my dirt bike. I want to mount it somehow on the trailer

OK, same idea, run a piece of threaded rod through the trailer's spare, put nuts on both sides of the rod, to attach it to the wheel solid. Mount the spare wheel, through the hub, on that rod.

Or...even better; Got a piece of square stock for an up-right, weld that onto the trailer, then find an axle on E-Bay and weld that to your trailer, use a piece of PVC as a spacer/weather seal ( for the welded side of the axle) and mount your spare rim to it using "stock" bike parts.