Sign in to follow this  

piston creating vacuum on up stroke 03 450r

So as i was riding along one day my bike shut off n locked up as i came to an idle. Bottom end and Top and replaced about a year ago. Got it home pulled out spark plug and i can kick it over but felt like there was still a compression stroke occuring. so removed the head and jug, everything spins free and moves as it should. Bolt the jug on with out the head and with it clamped tight on the cases it gets hard to kick but only on the up stroke. down stroke goes smooth and as it should. Removed stator covor and can see it blowing out the oil/air on the down stroke through the reed valve. so split the cases and everything looks as it should, reed valve is working as it should. Put it back together and same issue. BALLS.  Now im a diesel tech and rebuild engines all day, and have rebuilt several 4-stroke/2-stroke engines never had this problem before.  Is there something that lets air in from the crank case on the up stroke so the piston doesn't create a vacuum? simular to the reed valve for letting the air/oil out on the down stroke?  I'm at a loss guys. the search has revealed no answers for me or the manual.

thanks in advance. free 6-pack to the one that can help me

A vacuum isnt whats binding the up stroke. The compression you think you feel is the cam forcing the valves open and the flywheel magnet passing the stator poles.

How are you allowing the cam chain to circulate the bottom gear with the head off? If you want to see how easy it is to rotate the engine with the cylinder in place, take the stator off. Its amazing how much the magnets pull.

• Like 2

Shawn this is obviously over your pay grade. So please go crawl back under the troll bridge you came from.