Sign in to follow this  

DR-Z 400 wont idle

Ok so my neighbor brought over his 2006 DRZ 400S( i believe its an S) after it had been sitting for over a year. At first it wouldnt start so I replaced the air filter, removed the carb, cleaned everything with carb cleaner and compressed air( 3 times) tried adjusting the fuel mixture screw to various positions I read on the forums. Currently its set at 2.5 turns out. I got it to idle for about 5 min with no choke before it died. The fuel cock is leaking and the bike has an aftermarket 4 gallon fuel tank. With that being said it has no fuel vapor seporator but the lines from the canister were still attached to the carb. I detached them because im assuming theyre of no use since the cycle cant be completed now. It also has an FMF exhaust. I also noticed an exhaust leak on the front right side of the bike. Im no expert on dirt bikes and dont own one myself so bear with me if dont use the correct terminology. Im going to do an oil change tomorrow just because I have no idea the last time it was done. The bike has the stock mikuni carb. What do I need to do in order to get this bad boy running right? Im assuming some new jets would do the trick and maybe upgrading the needle? Im assuming putting an extended fuel mixture screw would make life easier too. Im going to replace the fuel cock too. Thats everything I can think of so hopfully there are some subject matter experts out there who can steer me in the right direction.

Assuming the motorcycle ran before it should not need any mods to run again ,  Just fix what is wrong. Probably needs a new O ring on the float valve seat. 1.5mm by 8mm or 1/16" by 5/i6 ".

What jets are in it? 142 main, 22.5 pilot, non adjustable slide needle are stock.  JD Jetting jet kit is the preferred jet kit if i needs one. Jet kit is the only way to get a performance slide needle

The original petcock is vacuum operated. The vacuum hose needs to be connected.