Sign in to follow this  

Yz250f Leaking Coolant

I was out riding a couple weeks ago and I noticed my bike was getting really hot.  So I checked the radiators and they were out. So I filled them up with coolant again and I started riding and all of the coolant is dripping out of the overflow tube.  I was wondering if my radiator cap could be bad? I filled them up again and it just keeps doing the same thing and I have no clue what the problem is.  I checked my radiators and there are no holes in them.decalmx.jpg

I was out riding a couple weeks ago and I noticed my bike was getting really hot.  So I checked the radiators and they were out. So I filled them up with coolant again and I started riding and all of the coolant is dripping out of the overflow tube.  I was wondering if my radiator cap could be bad? I filled them up again and it just keeps doing the same thing and I have no clue what the problem is.  I checked my radiators and there are no holes in them.attachicon.gifdecalmx.jpg

Your guess sounds reasonable, maybe even likely. Your manual may tell you how to test it. If not, Search it or just buy a new cap. Check for other leaks, Yamahas sometimes have problems with water pump seals, though it would take a while to run dry.

Also check the Yamaha forum.

Nice bike.

Mike

• Like 1

cap "could" be bad, but i doubt it

lack of airflow over the rads will cause it to overheat and push it out.

as mentioned, i would bet more on the waterpump seal being bad.  that is very typical.

There is one other possibility, and that is the head gasket is leaking and you're pumping coolant out the exhaust pipe.

With the bike cold, remove the cap, crank the bike, and check the fluid thru the cap opening.  You should see coolant flowing.

The check is this: Rev it up with the cap off and check to see if there are bubbles coming up thru the tubes.  If so, the headgasket is leaking.

Edited by ronbuell