Sign in to follow this  

xr440 jetting in the tropics

Hello,

I currently have a 1997 xr440 in the Dominican Republic.  I'm working hard to reduce the working heat from the bike - it gets dan hot here so I want to minimize impact on the engine.  So far, I've switch to 20w50, dpr9z sparkplugs and wrapped the headers, in addition to all the maintenance and rebuild work that was neglected for so long.

My question is jetting. The inside of my engine is black with carbon - partly due to the poor gas quality here but I also think due to incorrect jetting.  This is how I also received the bike. I pulled the carb and the jetting was 145/55.  This is my first time jetting a carb so I went bigger with 162/62, threw a new plug in and went for a ride.  Checked the plug after and it was covered with carbon so running rich.  Question is, should I go back towards 145/55 or start dropping down from 162/62?  Do bored-out xr440s require leaner jetting?

I ride at mostly sea level and high temperature/high humidity(and salt) environments with some runs up into the hills.

[edit]  forgot to add, it's been opened up with no snorkle, an Uni air filter and a basically a straight pipe that would not be even close to street legal in the US.[/edit]

Edited by Owchimata

Higher velocity through carb creates more vacuum and may require smaller jets.  

Also high compression creates more heat.  You may want to shave top of piston to lower compression.

Carbon is normal with pump gas.  I use Techron.

How did the bike start cold with the 55 pilot? For the high temps and humidity you have there I'm thinking the 55 might have been close, perhaps a 58. But the 145 main seems too lean.

How does the bike run out at half throttle and above with the 162 main? Is it blubbery or does it pull well with power?

In addition to everything you've done to combat heat, I also run the Two2Cool oil additive.

Edited by Trailryder42