Sign in to follow this  

150xc mods

hey guys just picked up my first ktm ever, a leftover 12 150 xc for 5700otd. i am new to trails as well, been a mx guy my whole life. i took it to black lake and the tomahawk b and c loops for 2 days and absolutely loved the bike.

being 122lbs its nice to be able to handle your bike when your stuck on a hillclimb lol.

anyways im looking for some mods to improve it as a purely woods bike.

anyone try the clockwork 3.1gallon tank?

also looking at a trail tech ignition mapping switch.

in terms of power what are the easiest ways to get a little more out of the motor?

plan on getting a fatty and carbon pipe guard and not sure what muffler to run. any sx parts i could carry over to get more power?

any other things worth doing/getting?

would like a trail tech voyager or something along those lines.

I can't speak about the Clarke tank, but I did a Acerbis tank on my SX... I can push 70 miles to a tank racing enduro. I get about 35-40 out of a stock tank. I barely notice the larger tank after 5min of riding. The petcock was a little interesting to mount and seems a bit vulnerable, but it works. I did a Powercore 2 muffler for the trails and rejetted per the manual for my elevation. Other than that, all stock.

Great bike for both track days and trail riding. I bought it to be a track only bike, surprised how versatile and fun it is to ride!!!

If you can do Tomahawk b and c loops fine then I don't see the need for a larger gas tank.  40-45mi is about the longest you'll find any trail in MI.  Unless you plan on riding mccct or something.

Avoidthedog.

I run an FMF powercore 2 with the standard pipe (carbon guard is a good idea too)

I tried a European power pipe (made for the sx and XC) and it gave it significantly more power right up top but robbed it from the bottom which I didn't like so I've gone back to the standard pipe.

Jetting it properly gives you more power than most mods IMO.