Sign in to follow this  

Can I use this oil?

I bought a 1991 XR250L off a guy and he gave me a bottle of Motomaster Formula 1 Premium 2-Stroke motorcycle oil.

I'm assuming I can't use this because my is a 4-stroke?

I'm a total noob when it comes to motorcycles. This is my first one/first time owning a bike.

Can anyone recommend me a place to find a repair manual for this bike? I found a Haynes on Amazon.ca for $30 shipped to my door. Are the Haynes manuals good? I can't seem to find the official Honda one anywhere but if the Haynes one will do I will go with that.

Also, the front tire that came on the bike isn't ideal. The read has a Kenda K270 Dual Purpose tire on it and I was considering getting another K270 for the front tire as well. I plan to do both on-off road. Nothing extreme. It will be a commuter bike while hitting some minor trails as I am new rider sorta deal. 

Also, is Canada's Motorcycle a good place to buy things from? They've got that Kenda tire for $50 plus they've got all the other stuff I was lookg at buying. Tire spoons/jackets/boots/etc.

Obviously I will look for used stuff first to save money but their site seems pretty good.

THANKS!!

ok thanks

I was just wondering if I COULD use it if I needed to, not that I WILL use it. I thought my bike had no oil in it but then I remembered you have to check it when it's standing upright, not on the kickstand :)

No on the 2-smoke oil.  Use a 20w50 motorcycle oil in good weather on an air cooled motor.  Change it within 1,000 miles in perfect conditions.  I'm using Valvoline 20w50 full synthetic motorcycle oil @$ 8.47qt.  In your winter I would use Rotella T6 5w40.  It's rated for wet clutches.  If I was racing, I would use Motul 300v.  Change the filter every 3,000.