Sign in to follow this  

How much training vs practice?

For you guys that are seriously racing how often are you working out at the gym and cross training vs actually practicing at the track?  Right now I'm working out twice a week, (insanity class and running/rowing) and practicing at the track at least once sometimes twice a week for about 1.5 hours.

I workout (mainly lift weights) 5 days a week. I've been doing that for the past 4 years. I ride once, maybe twice a week if I'm lucky. If I had the resources and didn't care to be a skinny weakling, I'd ride 5 days a week and maybe run/cycle now and then. That's basically what I did when I was in my teens.

I find that in the majority of athletic sports, the serious strength/endurance training should happen during the off season (assuming you have an off season).  If you have winters like I do here in ohio, there is definitely 4+ months when the riding conditions suck.  So those are good months to really focus on getting into the gym, and weight training.  I prefer weight training since I believe that its more beneficial than cardio.  Most people that go running, are really just jogging at a moderate pace that they can handle for a long time.  I don't feel like that transfers all that well in most athletic sporting competitions.  Even in motocross, its more of a sprint than a marathon.  When the bike is really fighting you, its going to test your physical strength, and the closer you are to using your maximum strength, the quicker you will fatigue.  I think circuit weight training is the best, and stick to the compound movements.  Dead lifts, squats, bench press, pull ups, rows, and dips are about all you need to develop good muscle strength and endurance.  If you want to do some running, then do sprints, that will be far more beneficial than jogging for an hour.