Sign in to follow this  

2010-2011 ktm 250sxf questions

Hi, I am new to the fourms and I am looking to buy a dirtbike, the bike i'm looking for is a 2010-2011 Ktm 250sxf. I figured before i spend money on it and buy it i should ask some questions about it.

1. Is there anything that is known to go wrong with these bikes that i should know of?

2. Is it an easy bike to ride since i'm just getting into it.

3.And also is the power of the bike controllable because i am just getting into dirtbiking and I know that i definitely won't need all the power of it right from the start but I just want to make sure i won't have to use all the power.

Thanks! Can't wait to ride!

A used 2 stroke would be a better bike for a first timer but I'll answer the question you asked. I'm in my third season of riding my 2011 250f. I really love this bike! The newer models have major improvements but as you said this will be your first bike so I wouldn't be concerned with a new bike. The motors are generally the same from 05-12. But the 2011-12 models have shock linkage like the Japanese brands as well as fuel injection. I don't know how handy you are but I think your abilities to work on the bike might play a bigger role in which year to choose.

The 2010 carbureted bike is definitly simpler to work on with out all the electronics fuel injection has. I can't speak for known issues on the '10 but I will list some things I've gone through with my '11.