Sign in to follow this  

Shorai batteries keep dying?

I replaced my heavy lead/acid battery with one of those Lithium lightweight batteries (Shorai).  This will be my 3rd battery (all replaced under warranty).  They seem to last about 2-3 months and then go bad.  I ride my bike most every weekend and why not always on a charger, I throw it on occasionally.  The manual says it can go for months without charging.  It seems once they go bad, they will no longer accept a charge. 

Anyone else have similar problems with these batteries?  Their whole selling point is a higher starting voltage, longer life and less weight.  So far I have only seen 1 out of 3 (less weight).  I don't mind as much as long as they replace them for free, but not sure how long that will last.

I haven't had this problem that a 2 month span does seem really short, I'm no pro or anything just my 2 cents but even on old fourwheelers we have around the house or track can go many months without such treatment and they are on their last legs. So anything newer shouldn't be running it out so quickly. Have checked your wiring for any strays or miscommunication or has their been any water damage to the area where your battery is?

I had one of those batteries on my CBR1000RR for about 2 years with no problems.  That being said, there is a shorai charger that connects via a special plug that will equalize the cells, etc.  The charging port is between the + and - terminals, covered by a rubber cover (I didn't notice it until after I bought the charger).  What kind of motorcycle do you have it in?  Have you checked the voltage the bike is generating?  As long as there is no parasitic draw (Alarms systems, etc., it should retain a nearly full charge for several months with no use.  Charger is about $75 though.. wish I kept mine when I sold the CBR.

Edited by mch