Sign in to follow this  

Need advice, missing small amount of gear oil

Lost 4oz's of gear lube all day sunday. Bike calls for 24. Drained it out today and got 4ozs less back. But it was cold. Thought my crank seal was blown but I have 155lbs compression and it runs fine. Was fouling out sunday nite and thought my crank seal blew ,drawing oil up and fouling the plug. But I tore it down, really got into the carb float valve assembly and it runs great now. But still was missing 4oz gear lube. Think I need new float valve assembly but im a rookie and need advice please. I was about to send the motor in for a crank and topend locally , but now it runs fine so i dont know what to do.

I would run it again, measuring again, and see what happens.

You can easily leave an ounce or two in the motor if it's not perfectly flat, then rocked, when you drain it.

It doesnt smoke to much really once its warm, im just going to keep an eye on the level and keep running it. Runs like a champ besides the bad fuel valve, in the carb

When i drained the old stuff it had a good amount in it and i had been riding it awhile

Probly burning a small amount and we did rip down the road for like 5miles when we got turned around out on the trail and i thought i could smell somethin funny but that was the only time. I need to go on a good ride

Can u replace that seal without splitting the cases, im goimg to try and put a vid up so u can see it smoking, i figured its normal

To really know for sure if you have a crank seal that leaks on the tranny side you would need to plug off the intake and exhaust side and use some kind of a vacuum source once you have that in hand you would need to have a gauge hooked up to that vacuum and watch the gauge to see if the needle starts to move if it looses vacuum if it does you would then know that the gear lube is seaping into the crank case and fouling your plug