Sign in to follow this  

97 cr250 dcv to recharge battery

This is my first time posting to a forum and I am a new member. My question is will the rectifier/regulator that comes stock on 97cr250 be able to handle the extra wattage from a lighting stator? Or do I need a heavier duty unit. I'm putting together a light setup for my plated CR and I don't want to have to charge it. I know Ricky stator does not make a kit for that year anymore. Any help is very appreciated.

What is the wattage rating of the new stator?

Configuring your wiring to have a constant consumption of the stator's output helps the rectifier not need to convert the unused electricity into heat.  A headlight and tail light that are always on is the easy way.

It's going to be a Ricky Stator he said realistic numbers are 25w. In a perfect world I would have a battery on the bike to keep all lights even and have any extra power from the stator go to recharging it. I was originally planning on a 50w output but he said that's not what they do. Thanks for any input I really appreciate the help. Any led headlight suggestions?

I am going to be running the headlight off stator power and a total loss setup for the rest. Unless someone has a higher power stator they would like to sell me :). Thanks for the help. I have read a lot on the forum and have seen you helping others. Which in turn helped me understand things better. Just wanted to say thanks for your opinion it's very useful.

How much output does the stock stator have?  Probably not too much less than 25w. 

Many smaller LED bulbs are in the 1w-3w range.  So even with 25w you could run LED tail/brake, LED blinkers, electronic LED blinker relay, etc. and still have enough for a feeble headlight.  I run a headlight with two MR16 size bulbs.  I wired it so the low beam is a 3w LED, the high beam is a 30w halogen.  They're enough to be seen by cars, but not nearly enough for riding at night.