Sign in to follow this  

cvk40 install problem

What's up thumpertalk!  New member long time lurker.  Need help with something.  I've been reading up on cvk40 swaps on the DRZ and I've gone ahead and did it.  I got a problem maybe you guys can help me with.  Now that I did the swap I went for a test ride and jumped on the freeway.  I was up to about 65-70 and my throttle was bottomed out already.  I don't think that's normal, is something wrong?

3x3, yosh exhaust, k&n filter

I got a 150 main and 42 pilot in there, dynojet needle 4th notch, fuel screw about 1.5 turns out. 

I've always been able to get a lot of great info on this forum but couldn't find anything about this.  Forgive me if this is a common sense fix.  I'm a newbie to bikes let alone installing a carb in one. 

Edited by sa-botage

Have a read through this post , by there reckoning you should have a 152 main jet and should have drilled out the slide , as you didnt mention the slide in your post , maybe it makes a difference , greg

http://www.thumpertalk.com/topic/1056323-cvk-40-carb/

Sorry, yes I did drill out the slide.  Can't remember what size but it was pretty much as big as I could without hitting the wall.  Also, I have read that post a few times.  Thats what made me decide to attempt the carb swap.  Not sure what it could be.  Could the jetting make that happen?  I was thinking maybe I need to change the throttle tube, but haven't seen anyone else mentioning changing the tube.  I know that I'm not topping out.  I have a vapor so don't know how accurate the rpm's are but it was only at about 6.5k and i've taken it higher than that with the mikuni carb.