Sign in to follow this  

Need help with getting in shape

Hi guys newbie here, I'm getting my new bike in a week or two and want to shape up a bit. Im 15 years old, 5 foot 8 and 176 lbs. I know to to things involving cardio and only weight lift so often. But I'm not exactly sure how long to run and what exercises I should to get in shape for track riding. Also, any tips you guys have for losing weight would be appreciated.

-Kevin

Riding dirt bikes is one of few sports that requires full body training if you want to stay in shape for it.

Weights, stick to the basics, but you want to build muscle endurance (stick to higher reps). Chest, arms (bi/tri/forearm), upper mid and lower back, legs, core

The 2 best forms of cardio you can do at the gym is rowing and the stepmill. Keep that heart rate up, try intervals too (1min HARD 1min low but not OFF, 20 mins)

If you want more in depth routines I'll be happy to set you up with some recommendations.

• Like 1

The 2 best forms of cardio you can do at the gym is.... and the stepmill. 

Get a friend, set the machines on medium resistance, and race to the 12th floor. You'll want to die after the first few times, but it's a helluva good workout.

Hi guys newbie here, I'm getting my new bike in a week or two and want to shape up a bit. Im 15 years old, 5 foot 8 and 176 lbs. I know to to things involving cardio and only weight lift so often. But I'm not exactly sure how long to run and what exercises I should to get in shape for track riding. Also, any tips you guys have for losing weight would be appreciated.

-Kevin

Lots and lots of full court basketball. My arms get tired and a little sore but, I've yet to stop riding because my arms were wore out. It's the legs.

basketball will give you the explosive movement you need as well as the coordination, the stops and starts, the instant demands.

An hour or so, at least three times a week and go up from there as your stamina increases.