Sign in to follow this  

Need some help PW50

Hi, I am new to these little bikes so if someone can help that'd be great

Recently bought my nephew a PW50.

I have cleaned the carb and the jets, ran new fuel through it including 2 stroke, changed the spark plug, new throttle housing and wiring and it will only start if I dip the plug in a bit of petrol, the it'll run for a bit then dies and won't start again, it is also getting very hot. Please can someone shed some light on this.

Thank you

Well assuming the bike is running for a few minutes long enough to get really hot. I would guess the engine is starving for fuel. You can loosen the drain bolt on the bottom of the carburetor to see if there's any blockage in the fuel delivery. If that's not the issue I would crank it over kick it over a couple of times and check to see if the spark plug is getting wet.

Thank you for your reply

I'll try this later and let you know

Cheers

I went nuts trying to troubleshoot my PW.  Turns out there was a little tiny fuel filter inside the petcock.  Check it out, I just removed mine and cleaned the petcock out quick, bike has never ran so good. 

Hi thank you for your reply, I'll have a look and no still not running at all now

Thanks

Hi, took the petcock there is no filter in there, and is flowing fine. thanks for the advice on that. Stripped the carb and cleaned it again still nothing in it. Haven't check the float yet? So that could be it... Changed spark plug again, checked all the wiring even replaced the start/ride/stop wiring still no luck. I am pre-mixing as the oil pump has gone on it. Checked the piston and it does look quite bad in there... So that could also be it? The guy who owned this before me should be ashamed of his "maintenance". Hopefully I'll get to the end of it soon!!!

Try removing the header pipe.  It's could be badly carboned up restricting the exhaust gases from escaping and snuffing the engine out.  It's a common problem with these little bikes.