Sign in to follow this  

Jumping - back end washing out to the side

1 out 5 jumps my back end will wash out to the side.  This is very dangerous and has caused me many bad wrecks.  On and instructional video I learned that catching the side of a rut can bounce you side ways.  This tip helped, but wash outs are much more common for me.  I can only avoid this when I leave the lip while not under power.  If I am accelerating and have the gas on when I leave the lip I am done for.  Am I alone in this battle and any ideas on how to avoid this?

I'm no pro but like you said, hitting jumps not accelerating on the face is helpful when your not getting good traction to prevent that problem. Carry that momentum before the jump, coast up the face, and blip the throttle as much as u need to depending on your body positioning and how hard your bike compression brakes on the face.

If you can't avoid accelerating on the face because the jump's right out of a corner or something then I'd say decide for yourself which way you want the bike to be sliding out off of the jump by leaning a little one way or another so that way you can anticipate how to be correcting it during the ascent and straiten out.

Or hit the jump straiter to begin with and keep a steadier throttle all the way up the face and try to keep as much traction as possible.

• Like 1

Rear tire centered?

That's strange and damn scary for that to be happening.

You are getting wheel spin off the face. Try carrying more speed to the jump so you don't need to throttle off so hard. Also when it happens keep you 're front tire and shoulders pointed in the direction you want to go. And land with the gas ON don't just let off the throttle and hope to ride it out.

• Like 1

Exactly.....try to get more speed before the jump so you can cruise the jump more than you trying to spin off of it.