Sign in to follow this  

changing fork seals

I'm no mechanic but i try to do most of my own maintenance, i've never changed fork seals before and im just wondering how big of a job it is, i'd like to avoid taking my bike to the local dealer because he over charges for everything but i will if necessary. Thanks in advance.

I'm no mechanic but i try to do most of my own maintenance, i've never changed fork seals before and im just wondering how big of a job it is, i'd like to avoid taking my bike to the local dealer because he over charges for everything but i will if necessary. Thanks in advance.

Not a big job but def need the right tools or you will do damage.

Which bike?

Edited by UncleLuke
  • Like 1

Not hard at all, say 3 out of ten. Once you do it you`ll wonder way any one takes it to the shop in the first place. Youtube is your friend. Fork cap wrench and seal driver are all you need but there are ways around not using them, but if you do rockymountainatv has their tusk stuff cheap and it works.

Edited by David C

Not a big job but def need the right tools or you will do damage.

Which bike?

05 kx250f

Not hard at all, say 3 out of ten. Once you do it you`ll wonder way any one takes it to the shop in the first place. Youtube is your friend. Fork cap wrench and seal driver are all you need but there are ways around not using them, but if you do rockymountainatv has their tusk stuff cheap and it works.

Yeah i watched a tutorial on youtube, i don't have a fork cap wrench or seal driver, how can i change the seals without these and not cause any damage? 

I used PVC pipe to drive my seals into place and have heard a lot of other people use it too and it ends up working just fine

Alright thanks, any suggestions for the fork cap wrench?

I just called the kawi dealer, he said $60 an hour and it will take 2-3 hours so $120-$180...

Alright thanks, any suggestions for the fork cap wrench?