Sign in to follow this  

DR650 Bar End Mirrors?

Hey guys, I am new to the forum here. I just started riding my first motorcycle about two weeks back.......a DR650. It is my dad's bike, but I am buying it from him. He already has some mods done to it............FMF exhaust, jetted the carb, air box has beed modded..............I am ordering a 790 Big Bore Kit as well as a Performance Camshaft from ProCycle within the next few days. Anyhow, my question to you guys is this...................I need a good set of Bar-End mirrors...................I can't use the stock mirrors at all................no matter how I adjust them..............all I can see are my arms and shoulders. Can anyone suggest a set that they know is high quality, fits the bike, and looks awesome??

Edited by Big Bore 790

While that is cool..................I just bought a new helmet when I decided that I was going to take up riding. Plus, any extra money that I have right now is going towards paying my dad for the bike........as well as ordering the big bore kit and the new cam...............so until I can save up some more $$$ I am going to have to settle for a far less expensive solution...........and find a nice set of bar end mirrors.

IMO, keep the bike as is, save your money for next bike instead of the big bore kit. It's riding season, not working on bike season.

Bar end mirrors may look more tidy, but require you to take your eyes off the direction of travel, further than regular mirrors, likely still need you to move your head or upper body to see behind you clearly anyway, might as well keep the original mirrors and move your head and upper body to see behind you.

Bar end mirrors just extend your bike's overall width, not good for staying nimble and minimal to go between cars when traffic come to a stand still.

A big thumper like DR650 probably vibrates enough to make rearview through mirror blurry anyway, get used to turning your head and moving your body to get good view behind you.