Sign in to follow this  

Hands hurting

So im new to riding on tracks and im getting the hang of it pretty good but my biggest problem right now is i cant ride much longer than 5-10 minutes at a time because my hands get sore.  Its not armpump, and its not my fingers, its just straight up pain/cramping in the palms of my hand.  I come from downhill mountain biking so I know all about arm pump and sore fingers and the dreaded claw but its none of those.  Plus with mountain biking that goes away once you get into riding shape and i have ridden a fair bit and its doesnt seem to be getting any better on the dirtbike.  Is it just straight up im holding on to tight?  Im well aware its most likely this so i try to make an effort to squeeze with my legs that much more and loosen with my hands but I think once i get riding and focused I hold on harder like normal.  I just cant wrap my head around loosening my grip.  Anyone got any tips or help with this?

Maybe grips? Sometimes it's that simple. Practice doing 2-3 laps every time you go to the track standing up, no sitting at all. Helps with leg gripping. Grip with ankles and knees but don't over grip with knees, want to unlock your hips

I would say that you are holding on to tight with your arms. Try gripping the bike with your legs more and just being more loose with your arms and core and you would be surprised how much longer you can ride. Also I massage the hell out of my forearms for about 5 minutes as hard as I can stand before my first practice and found out that I could go much longer at a race pace than before. Hope this helps