Sign in to follow this  

Rear Suspension Question

First, I'm by no means a suspension expert and this is in fact the first time I've tried to tune my suspension myself.  Working on a new-to-me 06 200XC with about 100 hours on it...

I've watched several how-to videos of getting the static sag set by adjusting the preload on the shock as well as followed the manual step-by-step.  I've adjusted the ring so that I have 35mm of static sag.  My question is the manual states that there should be about 0.2 inches for a "standard preload", however to get my shock's static sag set to 35 I've really had to crank it way down.  I have about 1-1/2 inches to the TOP of the ring which, to me (the non expert), seems like a lot.  Could there be something else going on with the shock that would cause me to have to make such a large adjustment on preload just for the static sag?  There's not apparent oil leaking or anything that would visually appear to be wrong with the shock.  Also, I did not reset the rebound or compression back to factory recommended settings before working on the sag.  It doesn't seem like they'd be related but there's a strong chance I'm completely wrong about that!

I haven't made the last measurement yet to determine my riding sag but I'm 99% sure I'm going to have to move up to the heavier spring.  I weigh about 170 + gear so I'm almost positive a new springs are in order, front and back.

I'm not a beginner rider but I'm also not a pro, don't race, and don't plan to, so sinking a ton of money in to the suspension is not something I plan to do.  I merely am trying to get the factory recommended setup for ME on this bike.  Any advice on getting a basic setup on my ride would be very much appreciated!

I believe that .2" standard preload on the spring is actual preload on the spring, meaning, from the point at which screwing the nut down contacts the spring and then screwing it down another .2" from there to get standard/minimum preload.