Sign in to follow this  

Shim factory setting size needed for valve adjustment.

Hello, This is my first post and I'm new to TT.  I recently acquired a 2008 KLR650 (which by the way I absolutely love) and I'm working on adjusting my valves, I already measured its clearances and found this helpful online calculator: http://www.carguy.org/klr650/shims.html however I'm unsure of what the shim factory setting size is and it is essential to get the right shims. Does anybody know what the factory settings are?

Thank you!

actually.... it's listed at the top of the calculator. normal range is:

.006 to .010 for EX

.004 to .008 for IN

I mic my shims & do a selective fit so that the clearances match valve to valve. for instance, both ex valves have the same clearance & then will open together and close together. if you get it right it's one of the things that makes the engine smoother

Edited by Beezerboy
  • Like 1

actually.... it's listed at the top of the calculator. normal range is:

.006 to .010 for EX

.004 to .008 for IN

I mic my shims & do a selective fit so that the clearances match valve to valve. for instance, both ex valves have the same clearance & then will open together and close together. if you get it right it's one of the things that makes the engine smoother

Thank you. I found that the shim thickness range will usually run from .260 to .235 for stock heads and valves.. (factory settings) I'm going to have to pull it apart to measure to avoid guessing wrong...