Sign in to follow this  

Joe's 400S Mod Thread

I bought a lightly used 2007 with a few mods already done. I plan on doing many of the usual mods I thought I would start this to help others since these are very common. Likely all of this info can be found elsewhere but it never hurts to have it consolidated with another user's input.

For reference, I'm no mechanic but I'm not all thumbs either so just about anyone should be able to do these. I have done some simple mods to my street bikes but that's about it. The important things to be armed with are the right tools and the right information. I wish I would have taken pictures during install of some of the things I've already done but oh well. Generally, parts don't come with great instructions and I learn better with pictures/video than I do from reading. Most of these I bought from the TT store and links/part numbers noted where applicable.

IMG_3367.JPG

PIVOT PEGZ:

This was the first think I received so first to install. These were relatively idiot proof but really didn't come with good instructions nor are there any tutorials that I could find online. You need to use the springs off of the stockers and if you pay attention to how the spring sits on the stock, you just need to duplicate it. Worst case, look at the other side.

What I learned: You need to take off the rear brake pedal. There's a cotter pin holding the bolt on so remove that first. Clean and lube the lever bolt/pivot while you are at it.

IMG_3372.JPG

DRC Edge Tail Light (D45-18-X06) w/Signals (part D45-60-20X):

The instructions on this are pretty good and it's very easy to install. For LED lights, you need to install resistors inline if you want them to blink at "normal" speed. I chose not to do this because I don't mind the faster flashing and I ride 90% off road anyway.