Sign in to follow this  

XR250 L Cut out won't re-start

Hello all, 

First post for me, being a new XR owner.  I've got an XR250 L I think!??!  1997 e-start only.

$_57.JPG

I had a couple of little rides near to my house, no problems, just up and down the street really.  I went to go for a proper ride today and it cut out a mile from my house!!!  Managed to bump start it but it wouldn't keep running.

I'm really new to all this and I'm sure I'm asking stupid questions, but it's the only way I'll learn I guess!!

I got a tow home eventually, took the battery out, put it on charge for 3 hours, put it back in and it fired straight away.

So que the stupid questions:

Is this just a battery problem?

Is it true that the battery needs to have a certain charge in it for the bike to actually run??

Is there a deeper fault with the alternator / electrical system?

Has anyone else experienced this?

I'm nervous to go out too far off the beaten track now in case it happens again!! This is what I bought this bike for!  Would there be any contingency for this happening again other than carrying a spare battery?!?!

Thanks!!!

Volt meter.  You need to solve this problem before you damage some very expensive components.

Volt meter.  You need to solve this problem before you damage some very expensive components.

What do you mean exactly??  

You need to check your battery and charging voltage to see what is going on.

yeah that's what I thought you meant.  My multimeter is knackered, I have ordered a new one to check it.  What expensive parts would I be damaging though??

Am I right in saying that there should be obviously around 12v coming from the battery and that it shouldn't drop below 9v on starting??? Then with a bit of rev's it should rise to 13 or so if everything is working properly???

I think I'm going to order a MotoBatt QuadFlex MBT4XU to replace a very old looking Yuasa YTX5L-BS

Anybody have any advice on which battery is best??