Sign in to follow this  

Bike for new woman rider?

Hello all! I'm a beginer rider and looking to find the perfect bike to learn on,as well as to grow into. I've been riding quads for a couple of years and am ready for the next step. I was looking at the honda crf230, I really appreciate the electric start! Any one have any feed back on this? I'm 5'7" at 135lbs.

Thanks in advance :-)

Are you looking for a trail bike ? street-oriented? Dual-purpose?

Dirt, Sport, Enduro, Standard, Cruiser?

If you want a legal bike- Personally, a good dual-sport i like is the Kawasaki Super Sherpa- though they can be hard to find parts for, but scrappy little bike that's beginner friendly but capable. There's a few around, but as stated, can be kinda hard to find things for considering the rarity. Have one myself, and i use it as an "around town" / trainer bike for people who want to learn how to ride. People report it feels a little tall, but meh.

I'm also a fan of the Honda CRF230F / 250Ls- good power, plenty of fun, "modern" design, lots of aftermarket support- so you're definitely barking up the right tree.

There's the Yamaha TW200, but eh- they're a little wonky from what I hear. Definitely a "work-horse / pig" trail crawler, so if you want to have a little fu, you may find their power lacking- They also make the XT225 / 250, which is the better choice for true dual purpose.

I'd also keep away from things like a KLR250- kinda tall for your size and lacking in the power department as well. 

Best of luck!

I sincerely believe there is not a one-bike-fits-all solution. (Hence the crowded situation of my garage. lol)  

It really depends on what kind of riding you want to do and what terrain you're on. You may not find that your learning-on bike will be your growing-into bike.

Let us know a little more and it'll help steer our answers to the right direction. :)

• Like 1