Sign in to follow this  

2002 XR250R problems, advice?

Went riding memorial weekend and after about an hr of easy riding she started to smoke like a chimney then it stopped. She was still running good but I just rode it back. Went to start it the next day and now everytime after it warms up it smokes like a chimney, could use it to keep mosquitos away. Any advice on starting point for things to check? Already tried changing oil and checking level. Also note tailpipe seems oily/ sooty and is harder to get started now.

Since it still seems to be running ok, instead of a broken ring or something like that, perhaps a bad valve stem seal or guide.

Ok, if it were oil rings that wouldn't necessarily show up on a compression test would it?

I wouldn't think so. Oil on the cylinder wall would help compression I would think, as opposed to seeing a compression drop.

I checked valve adjustments today. They were tight but it didnt help, still smoking bad. Its my first time digging into top end, is there supposed to be oil under the valve adjustment covers or is this a sign of leaking seals or guides?

I tried checking compression but the gauge couldnt get in there and get a good seal, is a leak down test a good way to check valve seals? If so is there somewhere that explains how to do that, im not getting anything in the search

Oil under the valve cover caps is normal.

I can't think of any forum thread right off that describes how to do a leak down test. My first thought is to search Youtube for a video. Lets see if anyone else responds that knows.

That the plug wasn't wet is good, but the fact that it was black/carbon covered is of no help in determining anything because its probably been in there forever. You'd need to put a fresh plug in and look at it after a short run to get an idea of current running conditions.

Does the "oily/sooty" tailpipe smell like fuel? Have you checked the carb? Choke? Is there fuel coming out of the carb overflow?